So exactly why do you blog, Bruce?

And does it provide any benefits? And is it a sink of time? I have been asked these questions on a number of occasions, even though the topic is a bit off the beaten track, I thought the questions merited a short post.

My blog is my on-line diary of topics that interest me in astronomical computing and computing in general. The key phrase is “that interest me,” rather than topics that are hip or necessarily au courant. Example: I wrote a few posts about licensing earlier this year because I was migrating the Montage Image Mosaic engine to a new license, and I necessarily had to learn about licensing. I thought this information might be useful to others in the field.

The blog provides one enormous professional benefit: it makes me read the papers and material I should be reading anyway, and writing the posts make me organize my thoughts and help me hone my writing skills. I invest a few hours each week week reading papers and writing posts, and I don’t find it a huge burden.

But having a blog is a responsibility, in that it is important to post reasonably consistently and find a voice. The best blog posts, I find, are like mini magazine articles, and summarize a topic in 6 or 7 paragraphs.  Writing in this fashion is a skill that needs to be learned. If you are interested in blogging, here is a presentation that gives some sound advice:

<div style=”margin-bottom:5px”> <strong> <a href=”https://www.slideshare.net/kcclaveria/how-to-rock-blogging-the-beginners-guide&#8221; title=”How to rock blogging: The beginner’s guide” target=”_blank”>How to rock blogging: The beginner’s guide</a> </strong> from <strong><a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/kcclaveria&#8221; target=”_blank”>Kelvin (KC) Claveria</a></strong> </div>

This entry was posted in astroinformatics, Astronomy, blogging, computer videos, document management, education, informatics, information sharing, social media, social networking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

